I Don’t Own The Road

And neither do you!  You can probably guess where I’m headed with this one.  Actually, instead of being the typical rant I should just say right off that I’m happy to be writing this.

Let’s face it, the streets can be downright scary.  I thought I was history last week.  Last Tuesday we were having a team meeting in Dallas.  I wasn’t feeling particularly well (hay fever) so I decided to head home after the awards that afternoon.  On my way home, I’m watching this wreck/collision unfold on the opposite side of the freeway.  The fender bender is between a large 4 wheel drive Dodge truck and a mid size car.  The small car lost out but the 4 wheeler decided to tangle with the cement barrier that guards both sides of the freeway.  I thought the 4 wheeler was going to 4 wheel it right over the barrier into my windshield.  Thankfully the cement barrier did it’s job, otherwise I would not be writing this.

turbo Then of course there are the Friday night lunatics.  What is it about Friday night that brings out the worst in people?  A long week of crap from other people?  Alcohol?  Both?  You guessed it, I saw a blatant display of road rage last Friday night.  I didn’t see what started it.  It must have been pretty minor.  You know, someone cuts someone off but doesn’t realize it.  In this case, the SUV was one of those humongous Cadillac Escalade’s.  The dude in the Caddy (making and assumption here) got really pissed off and roared around several lanes of traffic to get back in front of the car that he was pissed and and starts slamming on the breaks.  We aren’t talking light touches to the brakes.  We’re talking 70 to 40 type slams.  What an idiot.  He put the lives of many people at risk with the dangerous antics.

Then there was Saturday.  It was a beautiful afternoon.  After running some errands I’m heading home.  I usually drive at a pretty brisk clip.  I’m doing 70 in a 65.  The rest of the traffic is flowing at the same pace.  Leisurely.  I live in a swanky part of the Dallas/Ft. Worth metroplex.  It’s called Southlake and it’s home to many exotic cars.

Sure enough along comes driver number one in a black Dodge Viper.  Great looking car.  However, the Viper is doing at least 90.  I would not have minded but there were quite a few people on the roadway and this is not the Autobahn.  So as I’m passed by the Viper, I notice a woman is driving the car.  You don’t see many woman driving exotic sports but I must admit I see more in Southlake than most metro areas.  It gets better.  A few seconds later I get nearly blown off the road by a Porsche 911 Turbo.  This time, the driver had to be going over 100.  Over a 100 on a Saturday afternoon with a freeway full of families.  Does this sound sane to you?  We’re talking driving a 125,000+ exotic car at those speeds as if you own the freeway.

Once again, the driver was a woman.  I know because I caught up with her at the light at Dove Road.  I then followed her through the Southlake acreage on her way to what I’m sure is a villa in a gated community.  I had to turn off a different direction to go back to my safe little home.  And people wonder why I don’t like to drive.  It’s freaking scary out there now.

You don’t own the road no matter how much you make each year, and how expensive your automobile is.  Neither do I.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

